Each checkpoint is a separated collaborative space from the project line, with optional behaviors (milestones, result behavior...). Opening a checkpoint view will give access to the checkpoint partners to its full details.
Open/close a checkpoint view
Authorized partners can open a checkpoint view by clicking on the checkpoint's row (area which turns light-grey when the pointer is placed on it). The checkpoint view will open in a side-panel on the right.
To close a checkpoint view, click on the Close link in its upper right corner.
Checkpoint view details
1. Checkpoint view's header
The header of a checkpoint view displays the name of the Checkpoint and the name of the checklist it belongs to.
2. Validation box
If the checkpoint is not yet validated, and opens to validation, clicking on it will validate the checkpoint, and if it's already validated, clicking on it will cancel the validation (if possible).
Clicking on the arrow right to the validation box will open a drop down menu enabling to validate the checkpoint at an earlier date, and to report a problem.
If a calendar icon is displayed instead of a validation box, that means that the checkpoint has been set with Booking behavior.
When you validate a booking checkpoint, it is required to enter the date at which you have booked the related event, using the date picker in the checkpoint's header.
Once a date has been selected, you can then validate the checkpoint.
Both validation date and the booked date of the event will be saved.
Entering the booked date will automatically update the starting date of the following checkpoint (direct child) with this date. So that your planning stays up-to-date, and you get full visibility on what is coming.
If a link icon is displayed instead of a validation box, that means that the checkpoint's validation is triggered by the validation of another checkpoint (belonging to another project line of the same project).When a checkpoint has a source trigger (link icon instead of validation box), if it is not validated, it is not possible to validate it (it will automatically be validated when the source trigger checkpoint is validated), and if it is validated and you want to cancel its validation, please note that it will not cancel validation of its source trigger.
3. Checkpoint's dates
When a checkpoint is not validated, its planned due date is displayed, and in parenthesis its planned duration. Clicking on dates information will allow authorized partner to update starting date / due date or planned duration of the checkpoint.
Note: Updating the starting date will automatically set the checkpoint as fixed. If you want to keep its default eager behavior, it is recommended to update its ending date or duration.
When it is already validated, dates information will show the actual date of validation and in parenthesis the actual duration. Placing one's pointer on checkpoint's date will show detailed information about its completion conditions.
If a description has been added to the checkpoint in the Company settings, it will be displayed. If needed, you can expand the description area by double clicking on it or clicking on the orange dots.
If a milestone is attached to this checkpoint, you will visualize its name, date and status in the checkpoint view.
6. Pass/Fail option
If the checkpoint has been set with Pass/fail option, the result information is managed from its checkpoint view.
NB: Set the result of the Pass/Faill will automatically validate the checkpoint.
To set a result to the checkpoint, click on the drop-down menu and select Pass, Failed or With reserve. The selected result will then be displayed and if it is failed or with reserve, a Retry option will be available.
Clicking on Retry will relaunch a new attempt of this checkpoint, as a direct child of the failed/with reserve one. By default, the new attempt will be set with the same planned duration.
NB: To validate a Pass/Fail checkpoint at earlier date click on the drop down next to the "Select result"
7. External trigger
If the checkpoint's validation is triggered by another checkpoint, checkpoint details will display the name, the planned due date/validation date and status of the trigger source. Clicking on the trigger source name will open its checkpoint view.
For more information about External trigger specific dependencies, see the related section.
8. Checkpoint partners
On the checkpoint view, the list of project lines's partners who have access to the concerned checkpoint is displayed.
An icon informs of the authorization level of each one: the discussion icon stands for participation authorization and the check sign for validation and beyond.
Clicking on one checkpoint's partner's icon, you can:
- send him a Winddle mail
- open one's contact page
- send a reminder on the checkpoint.
9. Remove the checkpoint
From the checkpoint view, authorized partner can remove a checkpoint from the project line's workflow.
Click on the settings icon and select Remove checkpoint.
Checkpoint view tabs
Tasks tab displays the existing tasks of the checkpoint. For more information about tasks feature on Winddle, click here.
When the checkpoint has existing tasks, an icon in the tasks tab's header gives the number of tasks and if one of them is delayed.
Create a task
To create a task, click on Add a new task, type the name of the task or select one in the suggested names in the drop down and validate.
Note: Suggested names are tasks' name that have been created in other project lines on the same Master Checkpoint.
Note: It is not possible to create a new task in a validated checkpoint.
By default, the task will be assigned to the partner who creates it and has the checkpoint's due date as a due date.
Assign a task to another partner
To change the assignee of a task, click on the partner icon and select another partner in the drop down list. It is possible to assign a task to any partner of the related checkpoint. The new assignee will see the task in the widget Next Actions of one's dashboard.
Update a task's due date
To update a task's due date, click on its due date, select a date and validate.
Note: Any checkpoint's partner is able to update task's name, assignee or due date.
Discard a task
To discard a task, click on the bin icon on the task row.
Remind the task's assignee
It is possible to send a specific notification to the tasks's assignee, clicking on the reminder icon.
On the discussion tab, checkpoint partners are able to add new comments or reply to existing ones.
For more information about Comments, click here.
On the documents tab, checkpoint's partner access the list of documents that have been shared on this checkpoint and can add new ones.
The dependencies tab details the Parents/Children of the checkpoint. Authorized partners (update role) are able to update those dependencies.
Dependencies update from a checkpoint view works exactly in the same way as in the workflow editor. Updating a checkpoint's dependencies on a project line will not impact in any way the applied workflow template.
If a checkpoint has no parent, and the project it belongs to has several project lines, it is possible to set one of the checkpoints of another project line of the project as a source trigger. Setting an external source trigger will automatically link the validation of the checkpoint to the validation of the source trigger checkpoint.
Add an external trigger
Click on the Add a source trigger link at the bottom of the Dependencies tab, and select a checkpoint in the drop down list, then update.
Note: The checkpoints available in the drop-down list are the checkpoints used in the workflow of other project line(s) of the same project.
Note: It is possible to set several source triggers to one checkpoint. The triggered checkpoint will be automatically validated when the last source trigger is validated.
When an external trigger is added to a checkpoint, its validation box will automatically switch to a link icon, and information related to the external trigger will be displayed in the checkpoint details.
Delete an external trigger
To delete an external trigger, click on the cross close to the source trigger's name.
Only project manager can visualize Roles tab on checkpoint views.
Roles tab details roles settings for the checkpoint. It is possible to update it by moving the slider's level for a position and then click on Save changes at the bottom of the checkpoint view.
Updating roles on a checkpoint will have a live impact on the checkpoint's partners access authorizations, and on the future potential notifications of those partners. It will not impact roles settings at the company level.